SAMA Awards 2011 Winners: Professor’s Kwaito Hit Scoops Top Award

In the Middle: Professor, looking more like a general than the Professor from the University of KJ

There were shocks and surprises at the 17th MTN South African Music Awards 2011, held for the first time at Montecasino.

Last year’s SAMA Awards saw Durban kwaito group Big Nuz dominate the awards, this year another kwaito artist Professor made sure the top gong stayed with the kwaito genre.

Professor with his popular album, University of Kalawa Jazmee, scooped 3 Awards.

The man vindicated the popular Durban kwaito sound when he won Best Kwaito ,Male Artist of the Year and MTN Record Of The Year with the hit single Lento.

However, the Samas, which were hosted by Bonang Matheba and the controversial Phat Joe, were not without hullabaloo.

One of the biggest surprises was the winner of Female Artist of the Year – Thandiswa Mazwai. This after Simphiwe Dana was not nominated at all for her popular album, Kulture Noir.

Another controversial win was Liquideep, who won the coveted Album of the Year for an album which was basically repackaged from a previous album. The dance duo also won Duo/Group of the Year.

Best Rap deservedly went to the godfather of rap, Amu and Best Rock was won by Prime Circle.

The Parlotones, Prime Circle, Jax Panik, Kurt Darren and Die Antwoord were also among the winners at the 17th South African Music Awards.
The Award winners are:

Best African Traditional Gospel Album: Sechaba – Thank You
Best Contemporary Jazz Album: Ological Studies – OS Freedom
Best Maskandi Album: Bhekumuzi Luthuli – Imali Yabelungu
Best Sokkie Dans Album:Kurt Darren – Die Beste Medisyne
Best Pop Album English:Jax Panik – I am Jax Panik
Best Urban Dance Album: DJ Kent – I can’t survive
Best Urban Pop Album: Kwela Tebza – Gauteng Made In South Africa / Mzansi
Best Pop Album Afrikaans: Juanita du Plessis – Engel Van My Heart
Best Pop Album African: Theo Kgosinkwe – Grateful
Best Rock Album English: Prime Circle – Jekyll & Hyde
Best Kwaito Album: Professor – University of Kalawa Jazmee
Best Rap Album: Amu – The Principal
MTN Best Selling Mobile Music Download: DJ Cleo & DJ Mzi
Music Video of the Year: The Parlotones – The Stars Fall Down
Best Selling Album: Locnville – Sun in my Pocket
Newcomer of the year: Locnville – Sun in my Pocket
Duo / Group of the Year: Liquideep – Fabrics of the Heart
International Achievement Award: Die Antwoord
Lifetime Achievement Award: Sipho Gumede and Lance James
Female Artist of the Year: Thandiswa Mazwai – The Forgotten Free (Live in concert)
Male Artist of the Year: Professor – University of Kalawa Jazmee
MTN Record of the Year: Professor – Imoto
Album of the Year: Liquideep – Fabrics of the Heart



Comments are closed.